The first entry

by Rufus Sufur

This is it. This is my first entry into the blogosphere—wait, do people still call it that?

Ok, let me rephrase. This is not technically my first foray into blogging. Years and years ago (more than a decade) I had a blog. It was not a pretty blog. It was not a blog I updated often. But, like a lot of people, I did have a blog. And like a lot of people, I gave up on it.

Why?

First let me give some background on why I had it in the first place. Remember that this was in the early 2000s. We didn’t have such convenient ways to share information as we do now. There was no Twitter or Facebook. We had email, the web, and some other tools, but nothing like what we now have available.

Anyway, I had just moved from the US to Japan for work and I didn’t have an easy way to share my experiences with friends and family back home. So that’s why I joined Blogger; I needed an easy way to share photos and experiences with people back home and a blog was the best way for me to do it.

Since the purpose of my original blog was gone, it sort of fell by the wayside.

Now, I can’t say that I kept the blog up to date. But still, I suppose some friends read it occasionally. After two years I decided to move back to the US. Since the purpose of my original blog was gone, it sort of fell by the wayside. It may still be floating out there somewhere in the ether.  If you find it, feel free to dust it off and hang out for a while. Live vicariously through my life in rural Japan.

But this, the thing you are currently reading, this is something different. At least it is to me. I doubt that I’ll ever get more than a handful of people reading this on a regular basis. But I need somewhere to write. Photo sharing, personal life updates, comments about a friend’s new apartment…I have other tools for that. Personal logs…yea, I have a private journal (Day One) for that. But this…I haven’t yet nailed down what kind of content I’ll have in this blog, but it will probably revolve around tech, design, and current events. And even if I had a plan, things change. Things evolve. And plans are also things that fall by the wayside as time passes.

And plans are also things that fall by the wayside as time passes.

So. Add me to your Flipboard, Zite, Pulse, Google newsreader, or whatever. Check in on me every once in a while. See if I’m still kickin. I hope you enjoy reading it as much I hope I’ll enjoy writing it.

Cheers.

