iA Writer

by Rufus Sufur

For any of you that enjoy writing in a minimalist environment on your mac/iOS device, I’m sure you have already heard of iA Writer by Information Architects. They have a really great looking application that is a joy to use if you want to concentrate on distraction free writing. Per a recent post on the company’s blog about the latest update to the mac app:

I don’t know why it took us so long to find this obvious solution. However, given that no one else has done it, the simplicity of this solution is perhaps not as obvious as it seems in hindsight.

They’ve recently updated the app to include responsive design so be sure to check it out. The problem is, I’m still trying to figure out how to incorporate it into my workflow.

But that is more of an issue caused by my setup than a knock on the app itself. In fact, I have the same problems with other apps too.

So for what it is, it works very well. The problem for me is that I can’t use it when I want to. I work a regular 9-5 (well 8-7) day job like many people and use a company owned PC at the office. Thus, during the day I only have access to whatever I can do in a web browser. While I can do a bit of writing in Evernote, Simplenote, or even open a text editor and upload the file to Dropbox, I’m really not encouraged to spend my time at work doing this. So yes, I can add some blog ideas into Evernote and later copy them into iA Writer to finish them. But, its just an extra step. Once I start something in Evernote, its easier just to keep it there and finish off the piece.

If iA Writer ever directly integrated some kind of Evernote syncing, I would definitely be there. But as the developers have indicated they have other priorities they’re working on, I’m not holding out much hope.

Still, if you are a person that wants/needs a minimalist, distraction free writing tool and you have access to your mac when you want to write, this is one of the best looking (and useful) writing apps available.

