Feel like you’re Indiana Jones

by Rufus Sufur

Let’s get this out of the way first. I’m talking about the Traveler’s Notebook and the great joy you can get from journaling. Sure, you can call it keeping a diary if you like, but I prefer the term journal. I get more of a sense of permanence and ruggedness.

And second, this is not a product review. You can find any multitude of those online. Rather, I want to express to you that if you like hand writing your journals, this is one that will feel great in your hands, has a sublime leather scent, and takes well to the scratching of your pen nib as you pour your thoughts onto the page. The leather will become more distressed as you use it and will look even better over time. You’ll even feel a bit like Indy.

Quite simply, the Traveler’s Notebook is just a rectangular piece of leather folded in half, with a couple of pieces of elastic attached to it. I think a lot of people will appreciate that this is definitely not a run of the mill Moleskine (although those are great too). But the Traveler’s Notebook really invites you to customize it and make it your own. Check out Flickr to see what some inventive folk have created. You can easily see that a main benefit to handwritten journals is that they are tangible. You can write out your thoughts and feel the permanence. You can paste in an actual ticket stub to your first concert. You can customize your journal any way you see fit. And you can know that all the great minds of the past also documented their thoughts, pen to paper.

Unfortunately for me, although I love my Traveler’s Notebooks ( I have two), I also fell in love with digital journals. The convenience of being able to write whatever I want, whenever I want, wherever I want, was just too good to pass up. Plus, there’s no need to print out photos I want to attach to a particular entry and I can write as much as I like without it taking up significant physical space. If you prefer a digital journal, please see my other post for Day One, a great mac/iOS app.

However you journal though, I highly recommend you give it a try. If you journal as a way to release pent up thoughts, feelings, or ideas, I think its much cheaper than seeing a therapist.

*Note: Photos are from Midori’s Traveler’s Notebook website. Check it out.

