Why Bigger Than Rufus?

by Rufus Sufur

“Why?”

  • The first question people ask me when I say I have a blog.

Whenever I mention to people that I have a blog, they often give me a blank stare. I think they are just unsure of what to say. I imagine that the first image that pops into their heads might be those old geocities webpages that everyone seemed to have back in the 90s.

Before they get over their initial instinct to quickly change the subject to a more interesting topic, I usually blurt out the name of the blog and:

“What?”

  • The second question people ask me when I say I have a blog.

I have to wonder if people think they misheard me. I suppose Rufus is not the most common of names. And if they did catch Rufus, maybe they’re wondering who’s Rufus and just how big is he. If the they decide they did hear the name correctly:

“Why?”

  • The third question people ask me when I say I have a blog.

The answer is quite simple, if not a bit disappointing: All variations, permutations, and deviations of my name + .com, .net, .org, and .whatever were already taken. I also discarded a bunch of other names which I thought sounded remotely interesting, and what was left was Rufus Sufur (his name is an anagram). Since Rufus.com was also already taken and rufussufur.com seemed difficult to type, I decided that my blog would just have to be bigger than all that, hence the name.

See, I told you it was a bit disappointing.

